Switch to desktop

Opening Night 2013 Race Report 4.26

It was the best of times; it was the worst of times . . .
Sodeman, Hess, Williamson and Egley score Opening Night wins
Bowser, Ellenberger, Pegher, Swartzlander and Fosnaught struggle

Sarver, PA (April 26, 2013) Opening Night 2013 was a mixed bag of results as four drivers celebrated the new campaign in Sheetz Victory Lane, while others left in anger and frustration! For Jack Sodeman Jr. in the Peoples TWP Sprints, Dave Hess Jr. in the Precise Late Models, Mat Williamson in the Diehl Mods and Bob Egley in the Pic-A-Part Sportsman, Opening Night wins were the perfect way to kick start a run at the Budweiser Track Championships.  For guys like Carl Bowser and Mike Pegher, (whose engines failed them before they logged a single lap in competition), or guys like Brian Ellenberger, Brian Swartzlander or Jim Fosnaught, (who watched helplessly as the opportunity to stand in Sheetz Victory Lane was yanked out from under them), Opening Night ended far differently than their hopes and intentions.

Last Updated on Sunday, 28 April 2013 02:33

Hits: 1642

Read more: Opening Night 2013 Race Report 4.26

Opening Night 2013 Quick Results 4.26

Jack Sodeman Jr. starts 2013 with a wing dance in Sheetz Victory Lane

2010/2011 Champ Dave Hess Jr. holds off 2012 Champ Miley

Swartzlander light at scales, Mat Williamson picks up the win

Bob Egley endures a wild finish in the Sportsman

Sarver, PA (April 26, 2013) The 2013 Fab Four Racing season started off with a bang, as Jack Sodeman Jr. won a wild Peoples TWP DIRTcar Sprint feature after early leader Brian Ellenberger broke at the flagstand on lap 14 and restart leader Eric “Turkey” Williams jumped the cushion in turns one & two.  Dave Hess Jr. appears to be back to 100% after back surgery delayed his 2012 season.  Hess scored the win over a hard charging Jared Miley and Ron Davies who raced to a third place finish from the B-Main!  Brian Swartzlander and Canadian young gun Mat Williamson traded the lead multiple times under green flag conditions on the track and then one final time AFTER the races, as Swartzlander came up light at the scales after taking the checkers for a 78th time; giving the win to Williamson.  Jim Fosnaught got collected by a lapped car in turn two on the final lap and then Mike Miller got a little bit slideways exiting turn four coming to the white flag on the ensuing restart.  Defending Track Champion Corey McPherson had nowhere to go and got into Miller, spinning him out.  Bob Egley inherited the lead for a second Green-White-Checkered restart, but had to hold off a roughshod Paul Schreckengost and a rim riding Corey McPherson to score the Opening Night win in Pic-A-Part Sportsman. 

Last Updated on Tuesday, 07 May 2013 13:46

Hits: 1825

Read more: Opening Night 2013 Quick Results 4.26

Steel City Stampede Enduro Results

Paul Crynock III becomes first repeat Enduro winner, scores first Stampede Belt Buckle

Sarver, PA (April 14, 2013) Paul Crynock III, winner of the most recent Enduro 100 at Lernerville Speedway during Autumn-Motive Fest 2012 became the first back-to-back Enduro 100 winner with his win on Sunday, April 14 to cap off the rescheduled finale of the DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede.  Ed Holben finished second ahead of Tim Gillette, Jeff Chittester and Ryan O’Neil.  Ed Holben and Ryan O’Neil are asked to contact the speedway office (724) 353-1511 to make payment arrangements for their winnings.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 24 April 2013 02:44

Hits: 1914

Read more: Steel City Stampede Enduro Results

Steel City Stampede Finale Quick Results 4.14

Dale Blaney three-peats in Ti22/Peoples TWP Sprints to kick start Stampede Finale
Dave Hess Jr. scores $3,000 Precise Late Model A-Main win
Chad Brachmann repeats in BRP Mods to win 20th Annual Kodiak Graham Memorial
Dellinger, Blair, Taylor, Kekich, Knepper, Mitchell and Crynock win Stampede Belt Buckles


Sarver, PA (April 14, 2013) Well over 211 cars (plus another 83 Enduros) overflowed the pits once again for the finale of the DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede.  For the third straight year, 1991 Track Champion turned multiple-time All Star Champion Dale Blaney was the class of the field and scored his third straight Steel City Stampede feature win in the Ti22/Peoples TWP Sprints, but had to pass hotshoe Danny Holtgraver and hold off All Time division wins leader Ed Lynch Jr. to score the win.  Dave Hess Jr. won the Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models feature over a spirited Russell King and Chad Brachmann won the 20th Annual Kodiak Graham Memorial from the tail of the A and B main; his second straight Steel City Stampede A-Main feature win. 


Last Updated on Monday, 15 April 2013 04:39

Hits: 2502

Read more: Steel City Stampede Finale Quick Results 4.14

© 2012 World Racing Group - Interactive

Top Desktop version